Xinjiang forward Abdusalam wins CBA MVP award

Xinjiang Flying Tigers forward Abdusalam Abdurexit was named the 2023-24 Chinese Basketball Association (CBA) league regular season Most Valuable Player (MVP) on Monday.

100%; width: 600px; height: 400px;" width="600" height="400" border="0" vspace="0" title="" alt=""/>

This file photo sees Abdusalam Abdurexit of Xinjiang Flying Tigers shoots during the 19th round match between Guangdong Southern Tigers and Xinjiang Flying Tigers at the 2020-2021 season of the Chinese Basketball Association (CBA) league in Zhuji, east China's Zhejiang Province, Dec. 16, 2020. (Xinhua/Wu Zhuang)

Abdusalam received 471 points, including 65 of a possible 145 first-place votes from media representatives to win the league's top individual honor.

Having played all 52 regular season games, including 51 starts, Abdusalam averaged 19 points, 10.2 rebounds and 4.4 assists as Xinjiang improved from 17th place last season to the runner-up position during this campaign.

Xinjiang also had its head coach Qiu Biao named Coach of the Year.

Shenzhen Aviators forward Jared Sullinger, who averaged 21.8 points, 11.3 rebounds and 4 assists, won the Best Foreign Player award.

Promising Qingdao Eagles center Yang Hansen won both the Defensive Player of the Year and the Rookie of the Year.

Wu Qian from the Zhejiang Golden Bulls won the Sixth Man of Year award, while Shanghai Sharks sophomore forward Li Hongquan was awarded the Most Improved Player.

Abdusalam and Yang were also included in the All-CBA Chinese Player First Team, along with Liaoning Flying Leopards guard Zhao Jiwei, and Zhejiang Lions duo of Hu Jinqiu and Sun Minghui.

The All-CBA Chinese Player Second Team featured Zhang Zhenlin from Liaoning, Qi Lin from Xinjiang, Yu Jiahao from the Zhejiang Golden Bulls, Hu Mingxuan from the Guangdong Southern Tigers and Cui Yongxi from the Guangzhou Loong Lions.

Sullinger was selected in the All-CBA Foreign Player Team as well, together with David James from the Tianjin Pioneers, Marial Shayok from the Shandong Heroes, Antonio Blakeney from the Nanjing Monkey Kings and Myles Powell from the Qingdao Eagles.